Delaware Clean Transportation Incentive Program:

Process and Definitions for the Heavy-Duty Rebate Program

July 1, 2021 – April 30, 2023 (Funding Round 5)

Definitions

Primary Point of Contact (PPC): The primary point of contact (PPC) is responsible for working with the Motor Carrier in completing and submitting application and reimbursement packages to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy. PPCs include: dealerships, manufacturers of vehicles, and truck equipment manufacturers (TEMs) that sell or manufacture new medium and/or heavy duty compressed natural gas (CNG) trucks.

Motor Carrier (Fleet): An individual, business, non-profit, or a governmental entity based in the state of Delaware or that has an in-state based affiliate.

Lease Vehicle: A vehicle obtained from a leasing agency either inside or outside the state that leases a qualifying vehicle to an entity based in the state of Delaware.

Truck Equipment Manufacturer (TEM): A company that installs equipment on a truck chassis. The TEM bears full responsibility for any vehicle defects under federal law and is responsible for certifying that the vehicle meets all applicable federal safety standards.

Line Setting Ticket: The factory build or construction sheet created when the vehicle order is sent to the vehicle manufacturer. The Line Setting Ticket typically includes the new vehicle's identification number (VIN), all the codes for standard equipment, and options the salesman used to create this vehicle for the Motor Carrier. After the factory assembles the vehicle and the vehicle is shipped and sold, the Line Setting Ticket identifies such things as the gross vehicle weight rating, engine type, transmission type, drive line, paint codes, gear ratio, and standard and optional equipment specific to that vehicle.

<u>Application Period</u>

Applications will be accepted between July 1, 2021 and April 30, 2023 or until funding is exhausted. Incomplete applications must be corrected and returned to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy.

Note: Rebate awardees must continue to operate the applied for vehicle in the State of Delaware for a period of no less than 3 years and submit quarterly vehicle mileage to the Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy for a period of 3 years.

Revised: December 15, 2022

Process

1. The PPC fills out and submits an application to the Delaware Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy. This application can be found on our website at de.gov/cleantransportation

- The Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy recommends that the PPC fills out the application using the fillable PDF on the computer to ensure that all of the fields are filled out and legible.
- 2. The PPC emails the application (preferred) to DNREC.Transportation@delaware.gov or mails the application to The Delaware Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy, 100 W. Water Street, Dover, Delaware 19904.
- **3.** Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy reviews the application for completeness.
 - If application is complete and the applicant is one of the first twenty applications received (due to limited funding), a rebate commitment letter will be sent to the Point of Contact via email
 - If the application was received after twenty applications have already been reviewed, the PPC will be notified of their placement on the waitlist for this rebate.
- **4.** All rebate commitment letters must be **signed** and **returned** to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy within 10 business days of award notice.
- **5.** Within SEVEN (7) days of signing the commitment letter, the PPC completes the "Day 7 form," and sends the Vehicle Order Confirmation to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy via email.
 - Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy's commitment to the rebate and the rebate may be given to an applicant on the waitlist.
- **6.** Within THIRTY (30) days of receiving the commitment letter, the PPC fills out the "Day 30 form," and sends the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN #) and the estimated vehicle delivery date to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy via email.
 - Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy's commitment to the rebate and the rebate may be given to an applicant on the waitlist.
- 7. Within 120 days of receiving the commitment letter, the PPC sends the proof of vehicle delivery (i.e. delivery form and picture of the vehicle) and the reimbursement package to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy via email.
 - Reimbursement Packages must include:

Revised: December 15, 2022

- i. Rebate Reimbursement Form signed by PPC and Motor Carrier
- ii. Delivery bill of lading, signed and dated
- iii. Line setting ticket (or factory build sheet)
- iv. Delaware Motor Vehicle registration and tag number (temporary are acceptable)
- v. Photograph of license plate
- vi. Final vehicle/retrofit invoice less rebate amount
- **8.** If additional time is needed beyond the 120 days, the Point of Contact is responsible for altering Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy and submitted a 120-day extension form.
 - Failure to complete this form by the deadlines voids the commitment rebates and the rebate may be given a vehicle that was placed on the waitlist.
- **9.** Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy reviews the reimbursement package and submits approval for the release of funds.
- **10.** Funds are released and a check is sent to the PPC.

Additional Information

- All trucks must be delivered to the Motor Carrier and completed Reimbursement Packages submitted to the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy 120 days from delivery. If there is delay in delivery, it will be the PPC's responsibility to notify the Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy and fill out a 120-day extension letter and rationale.
- The Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy reserves the right to increase the program budget at its discretion.
- Rebate Application Packages must be filled out and signed by the PPC and Motor Carrier.
- Missing any of the required deadlines will render Rebate Commitments void.
- PPCs agree that the vehicle/retrofit purchase price will be reduced by the Rebate amount.
- PPC are responsible for completing rebate applications for each vehicle. Rebates cannot be combined.
- Motor Carriers are limited to five rebates per funding cycle.
- Motor Carriers are required to own/lease and operate vehicles for a period of no less than three (3) years.
- Rebate Reimbursement Packages must be filled out completely. All documents must contain the VIN #. Reimbursement Packages must include:
 - Rebate Reimbursement Form signed by PPC and Motor Carrier
 - Delivery bill of lading, signed and dated
 - Line setting ticket (or factory build sheet)
 - Delaware Motor Vehicle registration and tag number (temporary are acceptable)
 - Photograph of license plate

Revised: December 15, 2022

- Final vehicle/retrofit invoice less rebate amount
- Final invoices must provide line items listing the vehicle base price, Rebate discount, and all applicable taxes and fees.
 - Financial documentation identifying the method and date of final payment to the PPC must be provided. This can be a copied check or transaction showing an electronic money transfer. If lease or financial arrangements involve a third party, they must also be identified with the title or lien-holder clearly indicated.
 - o If applicable, a lease agreement for a period of at least 3 years.
- Rebate can only be claimed:
 - Upon vehicle delivery
 - Final payment (less rebate amount)
 - The PPC must submit all rebate redemption documentation within 30 calendar days of Start of Service Date or 60 days after vehicle delivery to Motor Carrier location. Start of Service date is once the vehicle is Delaware Motor Vehicles-registered, delivered to the Motor Carrier location, and payment to the dealer is complete. Failure to provide all required documents by this deadline may nullify the rebate.
 - Vehicles must maintain Delaware registration for a period of 3 years.
 - Motor Carriers are required to submit baseline vehicle mileage and fuel consumption data as well as quarterly vehicle mileage and fuel consumption data reports to Division of Climate, Coastal, and Energy for a period of 3 years.
 - Rebate will be allocated on a first come, first-served basis
- Rebate application packages will not be processed and will be returned to the PPC if:
 - Any documents are illegible; or
 - o Application package is incomplete or missing supporting documentation.

Apply for a Rebate

To apply for a rebate under the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Rebate Program, please download an application and submit the completed application via email to DNREC.Transportation@delaware.gov or via mail to The Delaware Division of Climate, Coastal and Energy, 100 W. Water Street, Dover, Delaware, 19904. Applications must be signed by the applicant and all supporting documents must be submitted. Applications may be scanned and emailed to DNREC.Transportation@delaware.gov or mailed to the address above.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please visit de.gov/cleantransportation to see a list of Frequently Asked Questions. If you have additional questions, please email DNREC.Transportation@delaware.gov.